Lando Norris Secures First Formula 1 Victory at Miami GP

By Score More Staff with Agencies

British driver Lando Norris achieved his first Formula 1 victory this Sunday at the Miami Grand Prix, marking a historic moment in his career in the pinnacle of motorsport.

Norris, racing for McLaren, clinched the top spot on the podium in his 110th Formula 1 race by crossing the finish line with a comfortable lead of 7.612 seconds over Max Verstappen of Red Bull, who finished second. Charles Leclerc of Ferrari rounded out the podium, coming in third, 9.920 seconds behind the leader.

The race featured thrilling moments, with Norris starting from fifth on the grid and taking the lead after a tactical strategy during the safety car period. The advantage gained allowed Norris to stay ahead of Verstappen until the end of the race.

“I love you all,” Norris exclaimed over the team radio after the exciting win.

Norris completed the 57-lap circuit in 1 hour, 30 minutes, and 49.876 seconds, securing his maiden Formula 1 victory and the 16th podium of his career.

With this result, Max Verstappen maintains his lead in the championship with 136 points, followed by Red Bull teammate Sergio Pérez with 101 points, and Charles Leclerc with 98 points for Ferrari.

The next round of the championship will be the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Italy, returning to the calendar after last year’s cancellation due to adverse weather conditions. The race is scheduled for May 17-19.

1 4 Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES 57 1:30:49.876 25
2 1 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT 57 +7.612s 18
3 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 57 +9.920s 15
4 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 57 +11.407s 12
5 11 Sergio Perez RED BULL RACING HONDA RBPT 57 +14.650s 10
6 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 57 +16.585s 8
7 22 Yuki Tsunoda RB HONDA RBPT 57 +26.185s 6
8 63 George Russell MERCEDES 57 +34.789s 4
9 14 Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 57 +37.107s 2
10 31 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 57 +39.746s 1
11 27 Nico Hulkenberg HAAS FERRARI 57 +40.789s 0
12 10 Pierre Gasly ALPINE RENAULT 57 +44.958s 0
13 81 Oscar Piastri MCLAREN MERCEDES 57 +49.756s 0
14 24 Zhou Guanyu KICK SAUBER FERRARI 57 +49.979s 0
15 3 Daniel Ricciardo RB HONDA RBPT 57 +50.956s 0
16 77 Valtteri Bottas KICK SAUBER FERRARI 57 +52.356s 0
17 18 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 57 +55.173s 0
18 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 57 +64.683s 0
19 23 Alexander Albon WILLIAMS MERCEDES 57 +76.091s 0
NC 2 Logan Sargeant WILLIAMS MERCEDES 27 DNF 0

* Provisional results. Magnussen received a 10-second time penalty for causing a collision. Stroll received a 10-second time penalty for leaving the track and gaining an advantage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *