Ferrari Triumphs in Thrilling 24 Hours of Le Mans Finish

Ferrari claimed back-to-back wins at the 24 Hours of Le Mans

By Score More

Le Mans, France – In a thrilling conclusion to the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Ferrari’s #50 499P, driven by Antonio Fuoco, Miguel Molina, and Nicklas Nielsen, triumphed over Toyota’s #7 car in a nail-biting finish, marking Ferrari’s second consecutive win at the prestigious endurance race.

The final hours saw an intense battle as Nielsen, behind the wheel of the #50 Ferrari, had to save fuel due to an unscheduled pit stop caused by a door malfunction. This forced Nielsen to conserve while Toyota’s Jose Maria Lopez and Ferrari’s Alessandro Pier Guidi in the #51 car drove aggressively after delaying their final pit stops.

Matt Campbell finished sixth in his Porsche Penske Motorsport 963

Despite these challenges, Nielsen managed to stretch his fuel and energy from his final stop with 50 minutes remaining, securing a landmark victory for himself and his teammates Fuoco and Molina.

Lopez, filling in for the injured Mike Conway, delivered a remarkable final stint in the #7 Toyota. Battling wet conditions, Lopez pushed hard, slipping off the track multiple times but avoiding major incidents. His efforts closed the gap to the leading Ferrari, but ultimately, Toyota finished in second place, repeating last year’s result.

The #51 Ferrari of defending champions Alessandro Pier Guidi, James Calado, and Antonio Giovinazzi claimed third place. Pier Guidi faced a late challenge from Porsche’s Laurens Vanthoor but managed to hold onto the podium position, relegating Porsche to a fourth-place finish for the second year running.

Australia’s Yasser Shahin won the LMGT3 class on his Le Mans debut

Australia’s Matt Campbell, driving the #5 Porsche Penske Motorsport 963, faced penalties that thwarted his team’s victory hopes. Alongside teammates Michael Christensen and Frederic Makowiecki, Campbell finished in sixth place, just behind the top Cadillac of Earl Bamber, Alex Lynn, and Alex Palou.

Nine Hypercars completed the race on the lead lap, with the Team Jota privately run Porsches rounding out the top positions. The #12 entry driven by Will Stevens, Norman Nato, and Callum Ilott led home the #38 car of Jenson Button, Phil Hanson, and Oliver Rasmussen, following a pre-race rebuild.

In the LMP2 class, the #22 United Autosports entries of Oliver Jarvis, Bijoy Garg, and Nolan Siegel emerged victorious after a tightly contested race. They fended off the #34 Inter Europol Competition Oreca-Gibson of Jakub Smiechowski, Clement Novalak, and Vladislav Lomko, with the #28 IDEC Sport car of Paul Lafargue, Job van Uitert, and Reshad de Gerus completing the podium.

The LMGT3 category saw a two-way battle between the #91 Mathey EMA Porsche 911 R and the BMW M4 of Team WRT. Richard Lietz’s superb final stint secured the win for Porsche, sharing the victory with Morris Schuring and Yasser Shahin. The #88 Proton Competition Ford Mustang driven by Dennis Olsen, Giorgio Roda, and Mikkel Pedersen rounded out the podium, marking a strong return for the American manufacturer.

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans showcased endurance racing at its finest, with dramatic twists and intense competition across all classes. As the teams celebrate their achievements, Ferrari’s triumph reaffirms their dominance at the Circuit de la Sarthe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *