Tour de France: Dylan Groenewegen Triumphs in Stage 6; Philipsen Penalized

By Score More

The sprinters took center stage in the 6th stage of the Tour de France, which traversed Burgundy from Mâcon to Dijon, marking the return of the race to Dijon after 27 years of absence on Thursday, July 4th. Dutch champion Dylan Groenewegen (Jayco–AlUla) edged out Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) at the finish line, securing his sixth Tour stage victory, the first since Stage 3 of the 2022 edition in Sønderborg, Denmark.

Philipsen finished second for the second consecutive time, with Biniam Girmay in third place. However, Philipsen’s sprint was deemed irregular by the officials, resulting in a penalty. Biniam Girmay moved up to second place, and Colombian Fernando Gaviria (Movistar) climbed to third on the podium.

This was the sixth consecutive stage of the Tour with a different winner. The stage was characterized by sporadic rains and relentless crosswinds, keeping the riders on high alert throughout the 163.5 km course. Despite challenging weather conditions, no significant breakaway managed to form.

“I am very happy,” said Groenewegen after the victory. “The feeling is incredible, and to do it wearing the Dutch jersey makes it even more special. I knew my legs were in great shape. Yesterday, I was a bit disappointed with myself because the team did a great job. Today, we got everything right again. In the final kilometers, we kept calm and I found the right moment to attack,” he recounted.

“Jasper Philipsen was a tough opponent today, but we managed to come out on top in the end. It’s very important for us. I love these tough sprints. There are so many incredible sprinters this year, that it’s difficult to win, and of course, even harder at the Tour, the biggest race in the world. And now, Uno-X Mobility and Alpecin-Deceuninck have amazing trains. Almost everyone has a great train. You have to get everything right. And I’m very proud of what we did,” added the Dutch rider.

After narrowly avoiding a crash in the previous stage, Tadej Pogacar faced another scare on Thursday when Jonas Vingegaard’s teammates managed to split the peloton 82km from the finish. The race leader found himself as the sole representative of UAE Team Emirates in the group of 50 riders he was in. Still, the situation normalized when a second group caught up with the main peloton about 10km later. It was another tense moment for the Slovenian, who will start Friday wearing the yellow jersey for the first individual time trial.

Abrahamsen Extends Lead in Mountain Classification The king of the mountains, Jonas Abrahamsen (Uno-X Mobility), accelerated on the Col du Bois Clair, the only climb of the day, 9km from the start of the stage. Axel Zingle (Cofidis) stayed close to his wheel but couldn’t prevent the Norwegian from winning the category 4 ascent and increasing his lead in the mountain classification (26 points, six ahead of Pogačar).

The two riders continued ahead, opening a gap of 1min15s over the peloton before easing their pace approaching the intermediate sprint in Cormatin, 31 km from the start, where Jasper Philipsen claimed the maximum points. The Belgian edged out Biniam Girmay, who became the first African cyclist to wear the green jersey this morning, and Mads Pedersen.

Groenewegen Triumphs in Thrilling Finish Tension mounted in the peloton as leaders clustered at the front to avoid unpleasant surprises before letting the sprinters decide the stage in Dijon, where the Tour last passed through in 1997.

The sprint train of Uno-X Mobility led the race under the red flag. Still, Dylan Groenewegen (Jayco–AlUla) dismantled the attack to claim the first stage victory by a reigning Dutch champion since Léon van Bon triumphed in Tours in 2000. The photo finish confirmed Groenewegen’s victory.

Final Kilometer Highlights

Jerseys Yellow Jersey – Overall leader – Richard Carapaz (EF Education-EasyPost) Green Jersey – Points classification leader – Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Wanty) Polka Dot Jersey – Mountain classification leader – Jonas Abrahamsen (UNO X Mobility) White Jersey – Best young rider classification leader – Remco Evenepoel (Soudal QuickStep)

Next Stage The first individual time trial of Tour 2024 will be held on Friday, % July. The 7th stage covers a 25.3km route between Nuits-Saint-Georges and Gevrey-Chambertin, featuring a 1.6 km ascent amidst the undulating vineyards of the Burgundy region.

Stages Stage 1 – June 29 – Florence to Rimini – 206km Stage 2 – June 30 – Cesenatico to Bologna – 198.7km Stage 3 – July 1 – Piacenza to Turin – 230.5km Stage 4 – July 2 – Pinerolo to Valloire – 139.6km Stage 5 – July 3 – Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to Saint-Vulbas Plaine de l’Ain – 177.4km Stage 6 – July 4 – Mâcon to Dijon – 163.5km Stage 7 – July 5 – Nuits-Saint-Georges to Gevrey-Chambertin – 25.3km (ITT) Stage 8 – July 6 – Semur-en-Auxois to Colombey-les-Deux-Églises – 183.4km Stage 9 – July 7 – Troyes to Troyes – 199km

July 8 – Rest Day

Stage 10 – July 9 – Orléans to Saint-Amand-Montrond – 187.3km Stage 11 – July 10 – Évaux-les-Bains to Le Lioran – 211km Stage 12 – July 11 – Aurillac to Villeneuve-sur-Lot – 203.6km Stage 13 – July 12 – Agen to Pau – 165.3km Stage 14 – July 13 – Pau to Saint-Lary-Soulan Pla d’Adet – 151.9km Stage 15 – July 14 – Loudenvielle to Plateau de Beille – 197.7km

July 15 – Rest Day

Stage 16 – July 16 – Gruissan to Nîmes – 188.6km Stage 17 – July 17 – Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux to Superdévoluy – 177.8km Stage 18 – July 18 – Gap to Barcelonnette – 179.6km Stage 19 – July 19 – Embrun to Isola 2000 – 144.6km Stage 20 – July 20 – Nice to Col de la Couillole – 132.8km Stage 21 – July 21 – Monaco to Nice – 33.7km (ITT)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *