Ogier beats Loeb to break Monte Carlo win record

The Frenchman Sébastien Ogier (Toyota Yaris) won the Monte Carlo Rally, in Monaco, and became the driver with the most triumphs in the mythical opening race of the World Rally Championship, with nine victories.

Ogier concluded the Monegasque rally with a time of 3.12.02 hours, beating in just 18.8 seconds the runner-up, Finnish Kalle Rovanpera, title champion also in a Toyota Yaris.

The Belgian Thierry Neuville (Hyundai i20) was third, 44.6 seconds behind the Frenchman.

With this victory, Ogier is isolated at the top of the list of drivers with the most victories in Monte Carlo, surpassing Sébastien Loeb, a compatriot who also started the year breaking records… but in the Dakar Rally: he achieved the highest number of consecutive victories (6) in a single edition of the all-terrain, surpassing the record of Ari Vatanen that lasted since 1989.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *